The first meeting

9/1/2011

I worked that day – it was a Thursday.  It was also my 35th birthday.  I was useless at work as I couldn’t think of much other than the meeting.  I was excited and scared to death. What if they hated me. What would they have been told?

I arrived at a McDonald’s near their day care about 20 minutes early.  Elise and the kids were about 20 minutes late.  I saw Mickey and Minnie through the windows of a blue VW jetta. My heart was pounding.  They walked in and I had a lump in my throat.  We ordered Happy meals and headed to the playground.

Minnie was shy and reserved. Mickey was curious and asked me a ton of questions.  Minnie went and played on the playground with some other children.  Mickey played for a minute or so at a time and then would come back to the table.

I was able to ask both kids questions – favorite colors and things I wanted to know in order to customize their rooms. I snapped a few photos and we said our goodbyes.  We were there about an hour.  Mickey had held my hand.  Minnie gave me a hug.  I would take those photos, still on the camera straight from McDonald’s to my birthday dinner with my parents and describe their newest grandchildren.  We were all beyond excited.

Leave a Reply

