Poetry and Peace

The week has been relatively quiet.  We are gearing up for our cruise, and that has Mickey both excited and somewhat anxious as the kids eagerly check the countdown on my phone. I am budgeting and planning and making lists.  I have all travel documentation, save one critical piece for Minnie.  I have fast passes and dining reservations booked for our wrap around Disney trip.  I have a hotel booked for the first leg of the trip, but not the second, etc.  School Thanksgiving feasts are being planned.  The kids even went through a wish book for Christmas gifts, so I guess we have even kind of started that. I am still working on our t-shirt designs for matching family shirts – and let me assure you, my brother is less than amused by this prospect.  His annoyance quite possibly could be blamed for my adding a 3rd shirt to the two I had planned on doing.  One is pirate Mickey shirts for pirate night, and one is a family Disney Cruise shirt for us to wear the day we embark on the ship.  I kind of love/hate matching shirts – cute for pictures, but annoying in general, but my kids think it is awesome that Grandma, Grandpa, Uncle and Mom are going to match them. I do tend to do matching shirts for the kids on special occasions, but it is pretty rare that a grown up matches them too. I added matching Mickey/Minnie head pocket Ts too. My brother will be thrilled 🙂

After the candy fallout over the weekend and a rough behavior morning on Monday, behavior has been pretty much back to normal – for both kids.  Minnie is working hard on her poem for her poetry recitation contest at school.  So that you can appreciate my daughter’s flare for the dramatic, here is what she said to me last night

Me: Minnie, did you work on your poem today?

Minnie: Yes, I practiced it lots

Me: Can I hear it?

Minnie: Well, I only know the first 4 lines and the last 2 lines.  But, I perfected my arm movements, my voice and my finish

Me: That is great, but you need to know the poem….wait, what finish?

Minnie: First I do a twirl, then a bow and then I blow kisses to my audience.  They will love it.

This is Minnie.  Dramatic, artistic and adores being on stage.  When she showed me her gestures and her finish, I have to say I was impressed.  But, she still needs to memorize the other 6 lines of the poem.  She picked the poem, and it is also typical Minnie.  She loves worms (and all living things) and when I offered her 10 animal themed poems to pick from, this was her choice:

The Worm

BY RALPH BERGENGREN

When the earth is turned in spring
The worms are fat as anything.
And birds come flying all around
To eat the worms right off the ground.
They like the worms just as much as I
Like bread and milk and apple pie.
And once, when I was very young,
I put a worm right on my tongue.
I didn’t like the taste a bit,
And so I didn’t swallow it.
But oh, it makes my Mother squirm
Because she thinks I ate that worm!
Leave a Reply

