Happy Thanksgiving

Juse a brief post to wish you all a happy Thanksgiving. Today is Mickey’s absolute favorite holiday, because for him it is all about the food. He has eaten himself silly and finally calmed the 100 miles per hour he has been running since he woke up yesterday. He has been on the verge of a meltdown since then, but after our lunch today he was….I don’t know…content? 

This has been the toughest year in my family’s history. My brother’s illness has taken a toll on all of us, but most especially him. We are watching him wither and it is emotionally draining. Each of us has taken on the financial burden of keeping him afloat while he fights for his life. He has been miserably sick for the last 6 days, but today he rebounded a bit to enjoy the day. so, today I am thankful. 

I am thankful for my children – Mickey who never fails to teach me something new, who loves life and music and has a delight and passion that can’t be extinguished. Minnie for her love, kindness and compassion for all living things. She makes us laugh and and makes us proud. I am so very grateful that my parents are close and my rock. I am thankful that my brother is here and that today was the closest I have seen to himself in a month. While I don’t get to see them as often as I would like, I am forever thankful for my niece and nephews and my new great-nephew.  I am thankful for our assortment of pets -Mason, Sherbert, Spots and Minnie & Jack, the fish plus our fosters – Cecilia, Diana, Batman and Robin. While I am not currently loving many things about my job, I am grateful for it. While money is tighter than it has been in years, I am always grateful to be able to support my family and have the extra to help out my brother as needed. We have a roof over all of our heads, transportation in the driveway, food to eat, family to love and a good life and that is all that matters. I hope the same for all of you. 

Leave a Reply

