Yesterday’s adoption conversations

​Minnie: Momma, what is it like to grow up with your birth mom

Me: I don’t know how to answer that, because I don’t know anything else. What does it feel like to grow up with an adopted mom?

Minnie: Lucky! Good. Happy. But also weird, because it seems like someone I should know is missing. 

Me: I think that is a normal way to feel, because a piece of who you are is a mystery to you.

Minnie: I guess…people ask about her and I just think it is weird that I don’t know her. 

Me: I get that, I can try to fill in the blanks for you….

Minnie: No. I have a real mom who is the best mommy ever, I just wondered if it felt different to grow up with your birth mom. I’m good, I don’t actually have any questions right now that I want answered…except… can we stop for candy?

Adoption is a very regular topic of conversation around here – so regular that it crops up on the way home from the pharmacy. #adoption

And then there is this beautiful pillowcase she made. It says “Adoption 5 years ago I was adopted! It was the best day of my life!”


We are going to call this a good day for adoption topics in our house. 

Leave a Reply

